Best lists
Sites like Fiverr for buyers: pay less on top, stay protected
The best Fiverr alternatives for buyers, compared on the fee added to your order, how your payment is protected and how you can pay — every figure sourced.



As a buyer, the price on a listing is rarely the whole price. Fiverr adds a 5.5% service fee and $3.50 on orders under $200. Here is what each alternative adds, and what happens to your money if something goes wrong.
Buyer fee, protection and payment methods
| Platform | Buyer fee | Buyer protection | How buyers pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fiverr | 5.5% service fee on every payment, plus $3.50 on orders under $200[1] | A cancelled order is credited to your Fiverr balance; a refund to your card or PayPal has to be requested and can take up to 10 days[2] | Cards, PayPal, Apple Pay and Google Pay; cryptocurrency is not accepted[3] |
| Zinn Hub® | None — the listed price is the price at checkout[4] | Payment is held until you accept the delivery (auto-accepted 5 days after delivery); staff review disputes; approved refunds are credited to your Zinn® Wallet[5] | Cards (Visa, Mastercard, Amex), PayPal, USDT and USDC[4] |
| Legiit | A processing fee of up to 3% when paying through a third-party provider; none when paying from wallet funds[6] | An unfulfilled or cancelled order is refunded as Legiit wallet credit, not to the original payment method[6] | Not stated on the pages we checked[6] |
| PeoplePerHour | Not stated on the pages we checked[7] | Buyers pay into escrow; money is released when the buyer accepts, automatically on an overdue invoice, or by the outcome of a dispute[8] | Not stated on the pages we checked[7] |
| Upwork | Up to 7.99% Client Marketplace Fee on the free Basic plan (3% for eligible US clients paying by bank account), plus a one-off Contract Initiation Fee of $0.99 to $14.99 on each new contract[9][10] | Fixed-price milestones are funded upfront and held; work in review is released automatically after 14 days; a refund request can be disputed within 7 days[11] | Not stated on the pages we checked[12] |
| Freelancer.com | 3% or $3, whichever is greater, on fixed-price projects (3% on hourly), plus $0.30 + 2.3% when paying by card, PayPal or Skrill[13] | Milestone Payment System — funds are held in milestones and released when the employer approves the work[13] | Card, PayPal or Skrill, each with a transaction fee[13] |
| Guru | A 2.9% payment handling fee, returned as cashback when paying by eCheck or wire transfer[14] | Not stated on the pages we checked[14] | Not stated on the pages we checked[14] |
| Workana | A 4.5% service cost[15] | Workana holds the client's payment in escrow until the client releases it; a release cannot be reversed[16] | Not stated on the pages we checked[15] |
| Contra | Card processing (2.9% + 30¢ on domestic cards) plus a platform fee per payment, capped at $29 and lower when the independent is on Pro[17] | Not stated on the pages we checked[18] | Cards, ACH, SEPA, Contra Wallet or crypto[18] |
| Malt | A service fee set by plan and country — in the UK 10% on Starter and 15% on Advanced[19] | Mission protection coverage of up to €20 million[19] | Not stated on the pages we checked[19] |
| 99designs | A 5% platform fee on 1-to-1 projects[20] | A 100% money-back guarantee within 60 days on design contests that are not guaranteed; it does not cover 1-to-1 projects[21] | Not stated on the pages we checked[20] |
| Toptal | A $79 monthly subscription if you go ahead with talent matching[22] | A trial of up to two weeks — if you are not completely satisfied, you are not billed[22] | Cards, ACH, bank wire and PayPal, usually invoiced twice a month[22] |
Figures checked on
Where each figure comes from
- Fiverr Help Center — paying for orders, extras or custom offers (edited 6 August 2026)
- Fiverr Help Center — requesting a refund for a cancelled order (edited 24 August 2026)
- Fiverr Help Center — adding and managing payment methods (edited 8 September 2026)
- Zinn Hub® — the fairer freelance marketplace (fees and protection)
- Zinn Hub® — terms and conditions (v3.8, updated 10 August 2026)
- Legiit — terms of service (last updated 25 September 2025)
- PeoplePerHour Support — freelancer commission fees
- PeoplePerHour Support — escrow
- Upwork Help Center — the Client Marketplace Fee
- Upwork Help Center — the Contract Initiation Fee
- Upwork Help Center — payments for milestones and fixed-price contracts
- Upwork Help Center — how to get paid on Upwork
- Freelancer.com — fees and charges
- Guru Help — employer fees (guru.com blocks automated reads from our network; read from the search-engine index of this page)
- Workana Help — how the commission is calculated
- Workana Help — how projects work
- Contra Client Help Center — understanding Contra's fees as a client
- Contra Help Center — fees overview (independents)
- Malt Help — service fees and offers
- 99designs Help — fees for 1-to-1 projects
- 99designs Help — the 100% money-back guarantee
- Toptal — frequently asked questions (clients)
Each number links to the platform's own page. Fees change — check the platform before you buy or sell.
Look for platforms that hold your payment until you accept the work, read how refunds are paid (back to your card, or as platform credit), and keep all messages and files on the platform so a dispute has evidence.
Keep reading
How we compare the platforms, the questions people ask most, and practical guides for buyers and sellers.