Skip to content
Fiverr Alternative
en
Compare fees

Fiverr alternatives, compared

Fiverr fees explained: what buyers and sellers really pay

Fiverr's seller commission, buyer service fee and small-order fee, clearance period and withdrawal fees explained with worked examples — and how the alternatives compare.

  • Figures checked on
  • Platforms compared: 12
  • Sourced figures: 32

Fiverr

Seller fee
20% of every order, including extras and tips [1]
Buyer fee
5.5% service fee on every payment, plus $3.50 on orders under $200 [2]
When sellers are paid
14 days after the order completes (7 days for Seller Plus, Top Rated and Pro freelancers); orders auto-complete 3 days after delivery [3]

What Fiverr charges sellers

Fiverr keeps 20% of every order, including extras and tips, so a seller earns 80% of the purchase amount. Earnings become available 14 days after the order completes, or 7 days for Seller Plus, Top Rated and Pro freelancers.

What Fiverr charges buyers

Fiverr adds a 5.5% service fee to each payment, and a further $3.50 to orders under $200. Each separate payment — an extra or a tip — carries its own fee.

Withdrawing your earnings

Fiverr lists PayPal with no withdrawal fee, bank transfer via Payoneer at $1 and a Payoneer account at $3, with up to $5,000 per withdrawal. Your payment provider may charge its own conversion fees.

A worked example: a $50 order

On a $50 order the buyer pays $50 plus the 5.5% service fee ($2.75) plus the $3.50 small-order fee — $56.25 in total. The seller earns 80% of $50: $40. The gap between what the buyer pays and what the seller earns is $16.25.

The same $50 order on Zinn Hub®: the buyer pays $50. A seller within their first $500 of sales earns the full $50, before third-party payment processing; after that, their tier's commission applies.

zinnhub.com/pricing — home page, as captured
zinnhub.com/pricing — home page, as captured ·

How Fiverr's fees compare

The table shows the seller and buyer fee on every platform we compare, each linked to its source.

How Fiverr's fees compare
PlatformSeller feeBuyer feeWhen sellers are paidPayout methods
Fiverr20% of every order, including extras and tips[1]5.5% service fee on every payment, plus $3.50 on orders under $200[2]14 days after the order completes (7 days for Seller Plus, Top Rated and Pro freelancers); orders auto-complete 3 days after delivery[3]PayPal (no fee), bank transfer via Payoneer ($1) or a Payoneer account ($3); up to $5,000 per withdrawal[4]
Zinn Hub®0% on your first $500 of sales, then 20% falling in steps to 8% as your lifetime sales grow; a flat 8% on Pro ($25/month) or 7% on Agency ($50/month)[5]None — the listed price is the price at checkout[6]Instant into your own connected Stripe or PayPal account; otherwise paid automatically every Friday once completed earnings reach $50[7]Your own Stripe or PayPal, or payouts to PayPal, USDT/USDC, UK, SEPA or US bank, Payoneer or your Zinn® Wallet[7]
Legiit15% of each sale[8]A processing fee of up to 3% when paying through a third-party provider; none when paying from wallet funds[8]Verified within 5 days of the buyer marking the order complete (orders auto-complete after 3 days), then up to 72 hours to arrive; at most $1,000 a day[8]PayPal or Payoneer; $3 per withdrawal[8]
PeoplePerHour20% on the first £250 billed with each buyer, 7.5% from £250 to £5,000, and 3.5% above £5,000 (excluding VAT); at least £1 per invoice[9]Not stated on the pages we checked[9]Funds become available to withdraw after a clearing period of about 14 working days[10]PayPal, Payoneer or bank account; PayPal and Payoneer usually arrive within minutes[11]
Upwork0% to 15% per contract — shown before you send a proposal and fixed once the contract starts[12]Up to 7.99% Client Marketplace Fee on the free Basic plan (3% for eligible US clients paying by bank account), plus a one-off Contract Initiation Fee of $0.99 to $14.99 on each new contract[13][14]Fixed-price and Project Catalog work: 5 days after the client approves; hourly work: 10 days after the billing week ends[15]US bank (ACH), local bank ($0.99), US dollar wire ($50), PayPal, Payoneer, M-Pesa in Kenya, and Instant Pay for US freelancers ($2)[15]
Freelancer.com10% or $5, whichever is greater, on fixed-price projects; 10% on hourly projects[16]3% or $3, whichever is greater, on fixed-price projects (3% on hourly), plus $0.30 + 2.3% when paying by card, PayPal or Skrill[16]Not stated on the pages we checked[16]Local bank deposit (free where available), PayPal, Skrill, Payoneer card or Express Withdrawal ($1 each), international wire ($25); $50 minimum[16]
GuruA 9% job fee on the free Basic membership, falling to 5% on the Executive membership[17]A 2.9% payment handling fee, returned as cashback when paying by eCheck or wire transfer[18]Not stated on the pages we checked[18]Not stated on the pages we checked[18]
Workana20% with a new client, 10% once that client has paid you over $300, and 5% over $3,000[19]A 4.5% service cost[19]Monthly (1st–5th) on the free plan; mid-month or weekly on paid plans[20]PayPal or Payoneer ($30 minimum on Payoneer)[20]
ContraNo commission on earnings; payout processors' own fees are passed on to the independent[21]Card processing (2.9% + 30¢ on domestic cards) plus a platform fee per payment, capped at $29 and lower when the independent is on Pro[22]Standard payouts are free; faster payouts cost 2% on the free plan[23]Local bank, PayPal, Payoneer or crypto, paid from US dollars[21]
Malt10% for a first mission, 5% after six months with the same client, 2% for clients you invite (excluding VAT)[24]A service fee set by plan and country — in the UK 10% on Starter and 15% on Advanced[24]Within 10 days of the client validating the work, on eligible projects[25]Not stated on the pages we checked[24]
99designsA designer platform fee of 15%, 10% or 5% by level, plus a client introduction fee of 20% of the first $500 with each new client[26]A 5% platform fee on 1-to-1 projects[27]Released 5 days after completion if the client does not act, then a 5-business-day review before the money is sent[28]Automatic payouts to Hyperwallet (PayPal or Payoneer during the transition)[29]
ToptalNo cut — talent sets its own rate and Toptal does not take a share of it[30]A $79 monthly subscription if you go ahead with talent matching[31]Not stated on the pages we checked[31]Handled by Toptal and paid in US dollars[30]

Figures checked on

Where each figure comes from

Each number links to the platform's own page. Fees change — check the platform before you buy or sell.