Skip to content
Fiverr Alternative
en
Compare fees

Compare

Fiverr vs Guru: job fees and membership compared

Fiverr against Guru on freelancer job fees and employer handling fees — with Zinn Hub® for reference. Guru blocks automated reads from our network, so fewer of its figures are shown.

  • Figures checked on
  • Platforms compared: 3
  • Sourced figures: 8

Fiverr

Seller fee
20% of every order, including extras and tips [1]
Buyer fee
5.5% service fee on every payment, plus $3.50 on orders under $200 [2]

Guru

Seller fee
A 9% job fee on the free Basic membership, falling to 5% on the Executive membership [1]
Buyer fee
A 2.9% payment handling fee, returned as cashback when paying by eCheck or wire transfer [2]

Below, Fiverr and Guru side by side, with Zinn Hub® for reference. Every figure links to the page it was read from.

How it works

Guru is a marketplace where freelancers keep profiles and employers hire them for jobs; freelancers can buy a paid membership that lowers their job fee.

Fiverr vs Guru: job fees and membership compared
FiverrGuruZinn Hub®
Seller fee20% of every order, including extras and tips[1]A 9% job fee on the free Basic membership, falling to 5% on the Executive membership[2]0% on your first $500 of sales, then 20% falling in steps to 8% as your lifetime sales grow; a flat 8% on Pro ($25/month) or 7% on Agency ($50/month)[3]
Buyer fee5.5% service fee on every payment, plus $3.50 on orders under $200[4]A 2.9% payment handling fee, returned as cashback when paying by eCheck or wire transfer[5]None — the listed price is the price at checkout[6]
When sellers are paid14 days after the order completes (7 days for Seller Plus, Top Rated and Pro freelancers); orders auto-complete 3 days after delivery[7]Not stated on the pages we checked[5]Instant into your own connected Stripe or PayPal account; otherwise paid automatically every Friday once completed earnings reach $50[8]
Payout methodsPayPal (no fee), bank transfer via Payoneer ($1) or a Payoneer account ($3); up to $5,000 per withdrawal[9]Not stated on the pages we checked[5]Your own Stripe or PayPal, or payouts to PayPal, USDT/USDC, UK, SEPA or US bank, Payoneer or your Zinn® Wallet[8]
Buyer protectionA cancelled order is credited to your Fiverr balance; a refund to your card or PayPal has to be requested and can take up to 10 days[10]Not stated on the pages we checked[5]Payment is held until you accept the delivery (auto-accepted 5 days after delivery); staff review disputes; approved refunds are credited to your Zinn® Wallet[8]
Minimum order$5 minimum starting price; some categories set a higher minimum[11]Not stated on the pages we checked[5]Micro Zinn®s start from $5[12]
How it worksFixed-price services (Gigs) with packages and add-ons[11]Not stated on the pages we checked[5]Fixed-price services (Zinn®s), small Micro Zinn®s and projects that freelancers bid on[12]
How buyers payCards, PayPal, Apple Pay and Google Pay; cryptocurrency is not accepted[13]Not stated on the pages we checked[5]Cards (Visa, Mastercard, Amex), PayPal, USDT and USDC[6]

Figures checked on

Where each figure comes from

Each number links to the platform's own page. Fees change — check the platform before you buy or sell.

Where Guru does better

Guru's job fee is 9% on the free membership and falls to 5% on its top membership — well below Fiverr's 20%.

Where Fiverr may suit you better

Guru adds a 2.9% payment handling fee for employers unless they pay by eCheck or wire. We could not read Guru's payout and protection terms from our network, so they are marked as not stated here — check them on Guru before you sign up.

What to check before you switch: Work out whether a paid membership pays for itself at the amount you expect to bill.

Our verdict

Guru can cost a freelancer much less than Fiverr; it is a hiring marketplace rather than a catalogue of ready-made services.

Other comparisons

Zinn Hub® vs Fiverr: fees, payouts and buyer protection comparedZinn Hub® against Fiverr on seller commission, buyer fees, payout speed and methods, buyer protection and how each marketplace works — every figure sourced and dated.Fiverr vs Upwork: fees, payouts and protection comparedFiverr and Upwork compared on seller fees, client fees, payout timing, payout methods, buyer protection and how work is found — with Zinn Hub® for reference. Every figure sourced.Fiverr vs Freelancer.com: fees, bidding and payouts comparedFiverr against Freelancer.com on seller fees, employer fees, payout methods, milestone protection and how projects work — with Zinn Hub® for reference and every figure sourced.Fiverr vs PeoplePerHour: fees, escrow and payouts comparedFiverr against PeoplePerHour on freelancer fees, payout clearing, withdrawal methods, escrow and how services are sold — with Zinn Hub® for reference and every figure sourced.Fiverr vs Legiit: fees, payouts and refunds comparedFiverr against Legiit on seller fees, buyer processing fees, payout timing, withdrawal methods and refunds — with Zinn Hub® for reference and every figure sourced.Fiverr vs Toptal: marketplace or screened network?Fiverr against Toptal on fees, how talent is screened, trial periods and billing — with Zinn Hub® for reference and every figure sourced.Fiverr vs Contra: commission-free freelancing comparedFiverr against Contra on seller commission, client fees, payouts and how independents get work — with Zinn Hub® for reference and every figure sourced.Fiverr vs 99designs: which is better for design?Fiverr against 99designs on designer fees, client fees, payouts and the money-back guarantee — with Zinn Hub® for reference and every figure sourced.Fiverr vs Workana: fees, escrow and payouts comparedFiverr against Workana on freelancer commission, client service costs, payout schedules and escrow — with Zinn Hub® for reference and every figure sourced.Fiverr vs Malt: freelance missions and fees comparedFiverr against Malt on freelancer commission, client service fees by plan and country, payment timing and mission protection — with Zinn Hub® for reference and every figure sourced.