Compare
Fiverr vs Contra: commission-free freelancing compared
Fiverr against Contra on seller commission, client fees, payouts and how independents get work — with Zinn Hub® for reference and every figure sourced.
Below, Fiverr and Contra side by side, with Zinn Hub® for reference. Every figure links to the page it was read from.
How it works
Contra gives independents a profile, job listings and digital product sales, and does not take a commission on what they earn. Its costs sit in payment processing and a platform fee per payment.
| Fiverr | Contra | Zinn Hub® | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Seller fee | 20% of every order, including extras and tips[1] | No commission on earnings; payout processors' own fees are passed on to the independent[2] | 0% on your first $500 of sales, then 20% falling in steps to 8% as your lifetime sales grow; a flat 8% on Pro ($25/month) or 7% on Agency ($50/month)[3] |
| Buyer fee | 5.5% service fee on every payment, plus $3.50 on orders under $200[4] | Card processing (2.9% + 30¢ on domestic cards) plus a platform fee per payment, capped at $29 and lower when the independent is on Pro[5] | None — the listed price is the price at checkout[6] |
| When sellers are paid | 14 days after the order completes (7 days for Seller Plus, Top Rated and Pro freelancers); orders auto-complete 3 days after delivery[7] | Standard payouts are free; faster payouts cost 2% on the free plan[8] | Instant into your own connected Stripe or PayPal account; otherwise paid automatically every Friday once completed earnings reach $50[9] |
| Payout methods | PayPal (no fee), bank transfer via Payoneer ($1) or a Payoneer account ($3); up to $5,000 per withdrawal[10] | Local bank, PayPal, Payoneer or crypto, paid from US dollars[2] | Your own Stripe or PayPal, or payouts to PayPal, USDT/USDC, UK, SEPA or US bank, Payoneer or your Zinn® Wallet[9] |
| Buyer protection | A cancelled order is credited to your Fiverr balance; a refund to your card or PayPal has to be requested and can take up to 10 days[11] | Not stated on the pages we checked[2] | Payment is held until you accept the delivery (auto-accepted 5 days after delivery); staff review disputes; approved refunds are credited to your Zinn® Wallet[9] |
| Minimum order | $5 minimum starting price; some categories set a higher minimum[12] | Not stated on the pages we checked[2] | Micro Zinn®s start from $5[13] |
| How it works | Fixed-price services (Gigs) with packages and add-ons[12] | Commission-free profiles for independents, with job listings and digital product sales; Pro costs $29 a month[8] | Fixed-price services (Zinn®s), small Micro Zinn®s and projects that freelancers bid on[13] |
| How buyers pay | Cards, PayPal, Apple Pay and Google Pay; cryptocurrency is not accepted[14] | Cards, ACH, SEPA, Contra Wallet or crypto[2] | Cards (Visa, Mastercard, Amex), PayPal, USDT and USDC[6] |
Figures checked on
Where each figure comes from
- Fiverr Help Center — your earnings page (edited 16 June 2026)
- Contra Help Center — fees overview (independents)
- Zinn Hub® — pricing and commission tiers
- Fiverr Help Center — paying for orders, extras or custom offers (edited 6 August 2026)
- Contra Client Help Center — understanding Contra's fees as a client
- Zinn Hub® — the fairer freelance marketplace (fees and protection)
- Fiverr Help Center — managing your orders, a freelancer's guide (edited 16 September 2026)
- Contra — pricing
- Zinn Hub® — terms and conditions (v3.8, updated 10 August 2026)
- Fiverr Help Center — withdrawing your earnings and managing payout methods (edited 26 July 2026)
- Fiverr Help Center — requesting a refund for a cancelled order (edited 24 August 2026)
- Fiverr Help Center — creating a Gig
- Zinn Hub® — home page
- Fiverr Help Center — adding and managing payment methods (edited 8 September 2026)
Each number links to the platform's own page. Fees change — check the platform before you buy or sell.
Where Contra does better
No commission on earnings, against Fiverr's 20%. Clients' platform fees are capped at $29 per payment and are lower when the independent is on Contra Pro.
Where Fiverr may suit you better
On Contra the client pays card processing and a platform fee, and payout processors' own fees are passed on to the independent. Fiverr is a catalogue of ready-made services that a buyer can order immediately.
What to check before you switch: Faster payouts on Contra cost 2% on the free plan; standard payouts are free.
Our verdict
Contra suits independents who bring or find their own clients; Fiverr suits selling to a marketplace audience.
Other comparisons
Keep reading
How we compare the platforms, the questions people ask most, and practical guides for buyers and sellers.
