Compare
Fiverr vs Freelancer.com: fees, bidding and payouts compared
Fiverr against Freelancer.com on seller fees, employer fees, payout methods, milestone protection and how projects work — with Zinn Hub® for reference and every figure sourced.
Below, Fiverr and Freelancer.com side by side, with Zinn Hub® for reference. Every figure links to the page it was read from.
How it works
Freelancer.com is a bidding marketplace: an employer posts a project or a contest and freelancers bid or submit entries. Bidding is free, and payment is protected through milestones.
| Fiverr | Freelancer.com | Zinn Hub® | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Seller fee | 20% of every order, including extras and tips[1] | 10% or $5, whichever is greater, on fixed-price projects; 10% on hourly projects[2] | 0% on your first $500 of sales, then 20% falling in steps to 8% as your lifetime sales grow; a flat 8% on Pro ($25/month) or 7% on Agency ($50/month)[3] |
| Buyer fee | 5.5% service fee on every payment, plus $3.50 on orders under $200[4] | 3% or $3, whichever is greater, on fixed-price projects (3% on hourly), plus $0.30 + 2.3% when paying by card, PayPal or Skrill[2] | None — the listed price is the price at checkout[5] |
| When sellers are paid | 14 days after the order completes (7 days for Seller Plus, Top Rated and Pro freelancers); orders auto-complete 3 days after delivery[6] | Not stated on the pages we checked[2] | Instant into your own connected Stripe or PayPal account; otherwise paid automatically every Friday once completed earnings reach $50[7] |
| Payout methods | PayPal (no fee), bank transfer via Payoneer ($1) or a Payoneer account ($3); up to $5,000 per withdrawal[8] | Local bank deposit (free where available), PayPal, Skrill, Payoneer card or Express Withdrawal ($1 each), international wire ($25); $50 minimum[2] | Your own Stripe or PayPal, or payouts to PayPal, USDT/USDC, UK, SEPA or US bank, Payoneer or your Zinn® Wallet[7] |
| Buyer protection | A cancelled order is credited to your Fiverr balance; a refund to your card or PayPal has to be requested and can take up to 10 days[9] | Milestone Payment System — funds are held in milestones and released when the employer approves the work[2] | Payment is held until you accept the delivery (auto-accepted 5 days after delivery); staff review disputes; approved refunds are credited to your Zinn® Wallet[7] |
| Minimum order | $5 minimum starting price; some categories set a higher minimum[10] | Not stated on the pages we checked[2] | Micro Zinn®s start from $5[11] |
| How it works | Fixed-price services (Gigs) with packages and add-ons[10] | Projects that freelancers bid on (bidding is free), plus contests[2] | Fixed-price services (Zinn®s), small Micro Zinn®s and projects that freelancers bid on[11] |
| How buyers pay | Cards, PayPal, Apple Pay and Google Pay; cryptocurrency is not accepted[12] | Card, PayPal or Skrill, each with a transaction fee[2] | Cards (Visa, Mastercard, Amex), PayPal, USDT and USDC[5] |
Figures checked on
Where each figure comes from
- Fiverr Help Center — your earnings page (edited 16 June 2026)
- Freelancer.com — fees and charges
- Zinn Hub® — pricing and commission tiers
- Fiverr Help Center — paying for orders, extras or custom offers (edited 6 August 2026)
- Zinn Hub® — the fairer freelance marketplace (fees and protection)
- Fiverr Help Center — managing your orders, a freelancer's guide (edited 16 September 2026)
- Zinn Hub® — terms and conditions (v3.8, updated 10 August 2026)
- Fiverr Help Center — withdrawing your earnings and managing payout methods (edited 26 July 2026)
- Fiverr Help Center — requesting a refund for a cancelled order (edited 24 August 2026)
- Fiverr Help Center — creating a Gig
- Zinn Hub® — home page
- Fiverr Help Center — adding and managing payment methods (edited 8 September 2026)
Each number links to the platform's own page. Fees change — check the platform before you buy or sell.
Where Freelancer.com does better
Freelancer.com's seller fee is 10% (or $5, whichever is greater) against Fiverr's 20%, and employers can run contests to see several entries before they pay a prize.
Where Fiverr may suit you better
Both sides pay on Freelancer.com: the employer pays 3% or $3 on fixed-price projects plus a transaction fee for card, PayPal or Skrill payments. On Fiverr the price and scope are fixed before you order, so there is no bidding round to manage.
What to check before you switch: Freelancer.com charges optional fees for project upgrades such as featured or urgent listings, and has a $50 minimum withdrawal.
Our verdict
Freelancer.com suits buyers who want competing bids and sellers who want a lower commission; Fiverr suits buying a defined service quickly.
Other comparisons
Keep reading
How we compare the platforms, the questions people ask most, and practical guides for buyers and sellers.
