Skip to content
Fiverr Alternative
en
Compare fees

Compare

Fiverr vs Toptal: marketplace or screened network?

Fiverr against Toptal on fees, how talent is screened, trial periods and billing — with Zinn Hub® for reference and every figure sourced.

  • Figures checked on
  • Platforms compared: 3
  • Sourced figures: 8

Fiverr

Seller fee
20% of every order, including extras and tips [1]
Buyer fee
5.5% service fee on every payment, plus $3.50 on orders under $200 [2]
toptal.com — home page, as captured

Below, Fiverr and Toptal side by side, with Zinn Hub® for reference. Every figure links to the page it was read from.

How it works

Toptal is not a marketplace you browse. You describe a role, Toptal matches you with screened talent — fewer than 3% of applicants are accepted — and you work with them hourly, part-time or full-time.

Fiverr vs Toptal: marketplace or screened network?
FiverrToptalZinn Hub®
Seller fee20% of every order, including extras and tips[1]No cut — talent sets its own rate and Toptal does not take a share of it[2]0% on your first $500 of sales, then 20% falling in steps to 8% as your lifetime sales grow; a flat 8% on Pro ($25/month) or 7% on Agency ($50/month)[3]
Buyer fee5.5% service fee on every payment, plus $3.50 on orders under $200[4]A $79 monthly subscription if you go ahead with talent matching[5]None — the listed price is the price at checkout[6]
When sellers are paid14 days after the order completes (7 days for Seller Plus, Top Rated and Pro freelancers); orders auto-complete 3 days after delivery[7]Not stated on the pages we checked[5]Instant into your own connected Stripe or PayPal account; otherwise paid automatically every Friday once completed earnings reach $50[8]
Payout methodsPayPal (no fee), bank transfer via Payoneer ($1) or a Payoneer account ($3); up to $5,000 per withdrawal[9]Handled by Toptal and paid in US dollars[2]Your own Stripe or PayPal, or payouts to PayPal, USDT/USDC, UK, SEPA or US bank, Payoneer or your Zinn® Wallet[8]
Buyer protectionA cancelled order is credited to your Fiverr balance; a refund to your card or PayPal has to be requested and can take up to 10 days[10]A trial of up to two weeks — if you are not completely satisfied, you are not billed[5]Payment is held until you accept the delivery (auto-accepted 5 days after delivery); staff review disputes; approved refunds are credited to your Zinn® Wallet[8]
Minimum order$5 minimum starting price; some categories set a higher minimum[11]Not stated on the pages we checked[5]Micro Zinn®s start from $5[12]
How it worksFixed-price services (Gigs) with packages and add-ons[11]A screened network — fewer than 3% of applicants are accepted — matched to your role[5]Fixed-price services (Zinn®s), small Micro Zinn®s and projects that freelancers bid on[12]
How buyers payCards, PayPal, Apple Pay and Google Pay; cryptocurrency is not accepted[13]Cards, ACH, bank wire and PayPal, usually invoiced twice a month[5]Cards (Visa, Mastercard, Amex), PayPal, USDT and USDC[6]

Figures checked on

Where each figure comes from

Each number links to the platform's own page. Fees change — check the platform before you buy or sell.

Where Toptal does better

Toptal starts each engagement with a trial of up to two weeks and does not bill you if you are not completely satisfied. Talent sets its own rate and Toptal takes no cut of it.

Where Fiverr may suit you better

Toptal charges a $79 monthly subscription once you proceed with matching and is built for ongoing roles, not a $20 logo or a one-off blog post. For small fixed-price jobs Fiverr, or a Fiverr alternative, is the better fit.

What to check before you switch: Toptal invoices clients about twice a month; budget for an ongoing engagement rather than a single order.

Our verdict

Toptal is for hiring senior specialists; Fiverr and its closer alternatives are for buying services.

Other comparisons

Zinn Hub® vs Fiverr: fees, payouts and buyer protection comparedZinn Hub® against Fiverr on seller commission, buyer fees, payout speed and methods, buyer protection and how each marketplace works — every figure sourced and dated.Fiverr vs Upwork: fees, payouts and protection comparedFiverr and Upwork compared on seller fees, client fees, payout timing, payout methods, buyer protection and how work is found — with Zinn Hub® for reference. Every figure sourced.Fiverr vs Freelancer.com: fees, bidding and payouts comparedFiverr against Freelancer.com on seller fees, employer fees, payout methods, milestone protection and how projects work — with Zinn Hub® for reference and every figure sourced.Fiverr vs PeoplePerHour: fees, escrow and payouts comparedFiverr against PeoplePerHour on freelancer fees, payout clearing, withdrawal methods, escrow and how services are sold — with Zinn Hub® for reference and every figure sourced.Fiverr vs Legiit: fees, payouts and refunds comparedFiverr against Legiit on seller fees, buyer processing fees, payout timing, withdrawal methods and refunds — with Zinn Hub® for reference and every figure sourced.Fiverr vs Guru: job fees and membership comparedFiverr against Guru on freelancer job fees and employer handling fees — with Zinn Hub® for reference. Guru blocks automated reads from our network, so fewer of its figures are shown.Fiverr vs Contra: commission-free freelancing comparedFiverr against Contra on seller commission, client fees, payouts and how independents get work — with Zinn Hub® for reference and every figure sourced.Fiverr vs 99designs: which is better for design?Fiverr against 99designs on designer fees, client fees, payouts and the money-back guarantee — with Zinn Hub® for reference and every figure sourced.Fiverr vs Workana: fees, escrow and payouts comparedFiverr against Workana on freelancer commission, client service costs, payout schedules and escrow — with Zinn Hub® for reference and every figure sourced.Fiverr vs Malt: freelance missions and fees comparedFiverr against Malt on freelancer commission, client service fees by plan and country, payment timing and mission protection — with Zinn Hub® for reference and every figure sourced.