Compare
Fiverr vs 99designs: which is better for design?
Fiverr against 99designs on designer fees, client fees, payouts and the money-back guarantee — with Zinn Hub® for reference and every figure sourced.
Below, Fiverr and 99designs side by side, with Zinn Hub® for reference. Every figure links to the page it was read from.
How it works
99designs is design-only. You either run a contest — designers submit concepts and you pick a winner — or hire one designer for a 1-to-1 project.
| Fiverr | 99designs | Zinn Hub® | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Seller fee | 20% of every order, including extras and tips[1] | A designer platform fee of 15%, 10% or 5% by level, plus a client introduction fee of 20% of the first $500 with each new client[2] | 0% on your first $500 of sales, then 20% falling in steps to 8% as your lifetime sales grow; a flat 8% on Pro ($25/month) or 7% on Agency ($50/month)[3] |
| Buyer fee | 5.5% service fee on every payment, plus $3.50 on orders under $200[4] | A 5% platform fee on 1-to-1 projects[5] | None — the listed price is the price at checkout[6] |
| When sellers are paid | 14 days after the order completes (7 days for Seller Plus, Top Rated and Pro freelancers); orders auto-complete 3 days after delivery[7] | Released 5 days after completion if the client does not act, then a 5-business-day review before the money is sent[8] | Instant into your own connected Stripe or PayPal account; otherwise paid automatically every Friday once completed earnings reach $50[9] |
| Payout methods | PayPal (no fee), bank transfer via Payoneer ($1) or a Payoneer account ($3); up to $5,000 per withdrawal[10] | Automatic payouts to Hyperwallet (PayPal or Payoneer during the transition)[11] | Your own Stripe or PayPal, or payouts to PayPal, USDT/USDC, UK, SEPA or US bank, Payoneer or your Zinn® Wallet[9] |
| Buyer protection | A cancelled order is credited to your Fiverr balance; a refund to your card or PayPal has to be requested and can take up to 10 days[12] | A 100% money-back guarantee within 60 days on design contests that are not guaranteed; it does not cover 1-to-1 projects[13] | Payment is held until you accept the delivery (auto-accepted 5 days after delivery); staff review disputes; approved refunds are credited to your Zinn® Wallet[9] |
| Minimum order | $5 minimum starting price; some categories set a higher minimum[14] | Not stated on the pages we checked[5] | Micro Zinn®s start from $5[15] |
| How it works | Fixed-price services (Gigs) with packages and add-ons[14] | Design contests and 1-to-1 design projects[13] | Fixed-price services (Zinn®s), small Micro Zinn®s and projects that freelancers bid on[15] |
| How buyers pay | Cards, PayPal, Apple Pay and Google Pay; cryptocurrency is not accepted[16] | Not stated on the pages we checked[5] | Cards (Visa, Mastercard, Amex), PayPal, USDT and USDC[6] |
Figures checked on
Where each figure comes from
- Fiverr Help Center — your earnings page (edited 16 June 2026)
- 99designs Help — what a platform fee is
- Zinn Hub® — pricing and commission tiers
- Fiverr Help Center — paying for orders, extras or custom offers (edited 6 August 2026)
- 99designs Help — fees for 1-to-1 projects
- Zinn Hub® — the fairer freelance marketplace (fees and protection)
- Fiverr Help Center — managing your orders, a freelancer's guide (edited 16 September 2026)
- 99designs Help — how and when designers get paid
- Zinn Hub® — terms and conditions (v3.8, updated 10 August 2026)
- Fiverr Help Center — withdrawing your earnings and managing payout methods (edited 26 July 2026)
- 99designs Help — setting up Hyperwallet for payouts
- Fiverr Help Center — requesting a refund for a cancelled order (edited 24 August 2026)
- 99designs Help — the 100% money-back guarantee
- Fiverr Help Center — creating a Gig
- Zinn Hub® — home page
- Fiverr Help Center — adding and managing payment methods (edited 8 September 2026)
Each number links to the platform's own page. Fees change — check the platform before you buy or sell.
Where 99designs does better
A 99designs contest shows you many concepts before you choose, and non-guaranteed contests carry a 100% money-back guarantee within 60 days.
Where Fiverr may suit you better
The guarantee does not cover 1-to-1 projects, where the client pays a 5% platform fee and designers pay 5% to 15% plus an introduction fee on a new client's first $500. Fiverr covers far more than design.
What to check before you switch: A guaranteed contest, or one that has entered its final round, is not covered by the money-back guarantee.
Our verdict
99designs for a logo or brand identity through a contest; Fiverr or a general alternative for everything else.
Other comparisons
Keep reading
How we compare the platforms, the questions people ask most, and practical guides for buyers and sellers.
